March – April 2014 President’s Report

(As taken from the DRM Annual Meeting held on March 19, 2014)

President Roese thanks Pete McLachlan and Al Baker for their years of service on the Board of Directors. The structure of the Museum consists of the Board of Directors (4 Officers & 8 to 16 Directors), an Executive Board (President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Chairman of the Board), and several committees (nominating, events, restoration, building, finance and strategic planning). Most Officers and Directors are in charge of a project or major responsibility, along with several non-BoD members (e.g., Sue Teer - events, Jim Teer - track, John O’Hern - safety and Gerry Herrmann - library). Additionally, Wade listed the long term (roundhouse, train sheds, tower, water and sand towers) and short term (updating G-gauge layout, improving access to equipment in the yard, enhancing all of our events and stretching our one-day events into two days) goals of the Museum. Finally, he emphasized that the Museum is in pretty good shape financially, our need for more members and that we need to get more members active by volunteering in Museum activities.